BADA Antiques & Fine Art Fair 2013

The leading UK fair returns with an array of works from over 80 dealers, and includes some outstanding examples of fine jewellery.

Duke of York Square, just off the King’s Road in Chelsea, plays host to the 21st edition of the BADA Antiques & Fine Art Fair, one of the leading UK fairs on the international calendar. The pavilion opens to the public for one week from 13 to 19 March, and sees over 80 members of the esteemed British Antique Dealers’ Association offer an array of exhibits from antiquity to the present day.

The wealth of British Old Masters on display are complemented with a loan exhibition of works by the English landscapist and influential watercolourist, William Payne (1760–1830). ‘Topographer and Artist of the Picturesque’ presents rarely seen paintings loaned from four private collections, and is curated by the exhibitor and specialist, John Spink. Payne’s scenes of Devon, Cornwall and South Wales are hung alongside recent photographs of the same views, revealing Payne’s choices as a painter, and both how little and how much the landscape has changed over two centuries.

At Rountree Fine Art, several notable works by English painters are also on offer, including Study of Elder Bloom, an oil sketch of a rural scene by Alfred Munnings (1878–1959). Thomas Mitchell’s (1735–90) marine oil The Forcing of the Hudson River Passage, October 9th, 1776 celebrates a decisive British naval victory in the American War of Independence. There are several known versions of the composition, including one in the National Maritime Museum in Greenwich, London. Mitchell’s painting is based on a work by Dominic Serres (1722–93) who, though French by birth, was strongly associated with the English school.

Portraits from the English school also feature prominently. Thomas Coulborn & Sons unveils the opulent Portrait of a Derbyshire Lady (c. 1760) by Joseph Wright of Derby (1734–97). Another highlight – and the surprise of the fair – is sure to be the delicate Restoration portrait Miss Ada Gosset (c. 1673) by the court painter Peter Lely (1618–80), on the stand of Jonathan Cooper. Mr Cooper, who usually specialises in contemporary work, rediscovered the piece abroad, catalogued under the 18th-century British school. Diana Dethloff and Catharine Macleod of the National Portrait Gallery in London have since authenticated this remarkable find.

A touch of glamour also runs through this year’s event. Gray Modern & Contemporary Art presents a series of seven ink and water-colour drawings by Jean Facon-Marrec (1903–94), illustrating Christian Dior’s pioneering ‘New Look’ from his 1948 couture collections. Elsewhere, Hollywood comes to Chelsea in the form of several pieces linked to the silver screen’s golden age. Jonathan Cooper offers a striking portrait by Jane Freeman (1871–1963), painted around 1930. Its subject is Sylvia Sidney, who featured in numerous crime-dramas during the Great Depression, alongside the likes of Spencer Tracy and Cary Grant. Also on sale is an aquamarine and pearl suite offered by Sandra Cronan . This exquisite parure was designed by William Ruser (1908–94), one of the most sought-after jewellers in Hollywood in the last century. It was originally made for Tamara Toumanova, a Russian émigré ballerina known as the ‘black pearl’, who went on to dance alongside Gene Kelly in the 1956 film Invitation to the Dance.

Aside from the glitz and glamour, traditional antiques continue to fill the stands at the BADA pavilion. Godson & Coles brings a choice selection of Regency period furniture, including a pair of carved bronzed and gilt window seats (c. 1810), as well as a black japanned sofa table (c. 1820). The latter is richly ornamented with an Oriental landscape derived from an engraving by William Alexander (1767–1816), the official draughtsman on the first British embassy to China at the end of the 18th century.

Other highlights from around the stands include Witney Antiques’ 17th-century English mirror in a raised-work embroidery frame, and four ‘Hans Sloane’ plates offered by W. W. Warner Antiques. The designs take their name from the eminent scientist and founder of the British Museum, who also lent his name to Sloane Square. The plates were produced at the Chelsea porcelain factory around 1755, and each is painted with botanical designs.

Clive Loveless presents a fascinating display of tribal artefacts, such as this early 20th-century ceremonial shield made by the Kerewe or Kara people from Tanzania. Elsewhere, Sylvia Powell showcases seven ceramic pieces by Pablo Picasso (1881–1973), including this vase of a female head crowned with flowers. It is marked with the stamp of the Madoura workshop and is numbered 68 in a series of 100, produced by Picasso in Vallauris in 1954.

Peter Crack is a freelance arts writer based in London.BADA Antiques & Fine Art Fair is at Duke of York Square, London, from 13–19 March (www.bada-antiques-fair.co.uk).

珠光璀璨的 BADA 古董与艺术博览会

由英国古董经销商协会(BADA)主办的第21届BADA古董与艺术博览会(BADA Antiques & Fine Art Fair)日前于伦敦切尔西的约克公爵广场拉开帷幕。该博览会为英国顶尖的古董与艺术品博览会之一,享誉国际。超过80家协会成员商社参加了博览会,展品涵盖了古董、珠宝、现代艺术品等等。展馆面向公众开放,展期为3月13日至19日。

为此届博览会锦上添花的,是十八世纪英国风景画兼水彩画家威廉·佩恩(1760–1830)作品的小型借展。画展由约翰·斯宾克策展,作品由四位私人收藏家借出,都是难得一见的杰作。佩恩素以德文郡、康沃尔郡和南威尔士的湖光山色为题材作画,表现如诗一般的郊野景致。画作与同一题材的近期摄影作品并列展示,直观地呈现了佩恩如何取景入画,以及当地景观在两个世纪前后的对比。

Rountree画廊展出了一系列英国画家的名作,其中包括:阿尔弗雷德·芒宁斯(1878–1959)的一张郊野风景油画草图《老布鲁姆习作》(Study of Elder Bloom)和托马斯·米切尔(1735–90)的海景油画《进军哈德逊河道》(The Forcing of the Hudson River Passage)。后者描绘的是1776年10月9日,英国海军在美国独立战争中的一场决定性胜利。这幅作品有许多构图相似的版本,其中一幅藏于伦敦格林威治的国家海事博物馆。米切尔这幅画的原型来自多米尼克·赛尔(1722–93)的一幅作品,后者是一位法国出生的画家,但与英国画派有着紧密联系。

英国画派的肖像画也是博览会的亮点之一。Thomas Coulborn & Sons首次展出了约瑟夫·赖特(1734–97)为一位德比郡夫人所作的肖像画。另一看点当属Jonathan Cooper展示的艾达·戈赛特小姐肖像(c. 1673),这幅作品出自宫廷画家彼特·莱利(1618–80)的手笔,经过精心修复后展出,可谓是本次博览会的一个惊喜。库珀先生一般擅长发掘当代艺术品,但他意外地在国外找到了这幅作品,并将其归类于18世纪英国画派,经伦敦国家肖像画美术馆的相关专家鉴定为真品。

本届的博览会也充满了珠光宝气。Gray Modern & Contemporary Art展示了让·法康-马利 (1903–94)的7幅水墨和水彩画,画中描绘的是迪奥1948年设计的时装系列中最具革命性的“新面貌”(New Look)作品。此外,我们还可以看到来自好莱坞银幕黄金时代遗留的珍品。Jonathan Cooper展出一幅由简·弗里曼(1871–1963)于1930年创作的肖像画,画中人物为女影星西尔维娅·西德尼,她在美国大萧条年代出演过不少犯罪剧,曾与斯宾塞·屈塞和加里·格兰特演对手戏。Sandra Cronan展出一套由上世纪好莱坞最受欢迎的珠宝设计师之一——威廉·鲁泽 (1908–94)设计的海蓝宝石与珍珠首饰,这套精工细作的首饰原为有“黑珍珠”之称的俄裔芭蕾舞演员塔玛拉·陶玛诺娃所有。她曾在1956年电影《心声幻影》(Invitation to the Dance)中与吉恩·凯利共舞。

除了闪亮的珠宝首饰,传统的古董依然是BADA博览会的主角。Godson & Coles带来了一系列摄政时期的精美古董家具,包括一对带青铜雕刻的镀金窗边椅(c. 1810)和一张日本黑漆沙发桌(c. 1820)。沙发桌上精致的东方风景浮雕装饰出自18世纪英国驻华大使馆的官方制图师威廉·亚历山大(1767–1816)之手。

其他展位值得注目的亮点还有Witney Antiques的英国17世纪刺绣框镜子,W. W. Warner Antiques的4件“汉斯·斯隆”瓷碟。这套碟子的设计灵感和命名都来自英国博物馆创始人、著名科学家汉斯·斯隆。1755年由切尔西的陶瓷厂制作,每一只碟子上均绘有植物图案。

Clive Loveless展出的部落手工艺品别具一格,如20世纪早期坦桑尼亚克莱维或卡拉族人制作的仪式用盾牌。Sylvia Powell展出了毕加索手制的7件瓷器,其中一件戴花环女性头像的花瓶上面印有马杜拉工作室的标记,为100件系列中的第68件,是毕加索1954年在瓦洛里斯的作品。

彼特·克拉克是伦敦的艺术类自由作家。BADA古董与艺术博览会于伦敦约克公爵广场举行,展期为3月13日至19日。详情请登录官网www.bada-antiques-fair.co.uk