London Art Gallery to Host Lincoln Seligman Paintings

LONDON – A major exhibition of paintings recording the results of Lincoln Seligman’s travels, entitled “An artist at large” will open at La Galleria Pall Mall, London SW1Y 4UY on Dec. 3-8. The show will feature around 60 paintings with prices ranging from £1,000-£20,000.

For the past three years artist and sculptor Lincoln Seligman has crisscrossed the globe, covering more than 200,000 miles over four continents. Armed with sketchpad, brushes and camera, he has captured remarkable images from Tuscan hill villages to Indian palaces and from the shores of Africa to the plains of the American West.

A British artist, born in 1950, Seligman has gained an international reputation for his large-scale sculptures and murals that can be found in many landmark buildings worldwide. When not creating abstract sculptures he concentrates full time on painting. His visual travelogue depicts images from Provence, Brittany and Tuscany, northern India and Sri Lanka, Bhutan, Kenya, New York and New England, parts of China as well as the Cotswold countryside. When not traveling, Lincoln divides his time between studios in the Cotswolds and London.

Wine Bottles by Lincoln SeligmanSeligman’s work, which is noted for its use of vibrant color, is varied, ranging from large-scale canvases of landscapes, a series of what he calls winescapes – in which he uses bottles and wine cases to create quasi-abstract compositions – to peaceful images of monks at the Abbey of Sant’Antimo monastery near Paganico.

Seligman has exhibited in London (a one-man show at the Royal Academy in 2007) and New York and his paintings can be found in many important public collections including the New York Public Library, the European Parliament, the Royal Palace, Riyadh, Standard Chartered Bank, Flemings, Chanel and Laurent Perrier. Two important recent commissions include a gigantic hanging sculpture in Phoenix City, Beijing, for the Chinese government in 2011, and set designs for the New English Ballet Theatre’s Bright Young Things at Sadler’s Wells in July this year. Seligman also holds annual painting courses in Sri Lanka and Kenya.

Seligman’s show, “An artist at large,” was presented by Penrose Fine Art in 2012 and it was a very successful exhibition. Eaton Collection currently has the opportunity exclusively to present his art works to our clients in China. Please find his available work on our Eaton Contemporary Lincoln Seligman web page.

林肯·塞利格曼画展

几个月前以林肯·塞利格曼的旅行游记为主题的大型画展《逍遥艺术家》(Artist at Large)于伦敦市蓓尔美尔的La Galleria艺廊举行,展期为一周。届时将展出约60幅作品,每幅估价为1000至20000英镑不等。

林肯·塞利格曼用三年的时间作环球旅行,足迹遍及四大洲,行程超过二十万英里。他以速写和摄影等方式记录了所到之处的迷人风光。托斯卡纳山村的恬静、印度宫殿的宏伟、非洲海岸的壮丽、美洲西部平原的辽阔尽收于艺术家的笔下。

林肯·塞利格曼1950年出生于英国,以创作大型雕塑及壁画蜚声国际,其作品可见于世界各地的地标性建筑。除了抽象雕塑,他还专注于绘画。他的图画游记描绘了眼至所及的风光景致,从欧洲的普罗旺斯、布列塔尼、托斯卡纳,到亚洲的印度北部、斯里兰卡、不丹、中国,东非的肯尼亚,再到美洲大陆的纽约、新英格兰,最后回到英国的科茨沃尔德。回国后,塞利格曼大部分时间往返于科茨沃尔德和伦敦的工作室。

Wine Bottles by Lincoln Seligman塞利格曼的作品素以充满动感的色彩而著称,且形式十分多样化。其中包括大尺幅的抽象风景油画——即艺术家所称的“酒瓶风景”系列,其独特之处是利用红酒瓶和酒具箱的形象创造出一种抽象的、类似风景画式的构图。除此之外,塞利格曼也创作了一系列以意大利小镇帕加尼科的圣安蒂莫修道院修士为题材的小幅油画。

塞利格曼曾在伦敦(2007年在皇家美术学院的个展)和纽约举行过展览,他的作品为许多重要的公共建筑所收藏,如纽约公共图书馆、欧洲议会、皇室官邸、利雅得市、渣打银行、弗莱明斯银行、香奈儿和罗兰百悦。塞利格曼近年接下的重要工作分别是2011年受中国政府委托,在北京凤凰城创作的巨型悬挂雕塑,以及2012年6月为新英国芭蕾舞剧团在伦敦沙德勒之井剧院上演的《轻狂青春》(Bright Young Things)担任布景设计。此外,他每年都会到斯里兰卡和肯尼亚开办油画课程。

2012年,Penrose Fine Art画廊为塞利格曼举办的画展《逍遥艺术家》取得了巨大成功。伊顿收藏有幸获得独家代理,向中国顾客介绍其艺术作品。请进入伊顿当代艺术的林肯·塞利格曼专页一睹佳作风采。